Press Release: K-12 School Energy Conservation Contest Winners

Press Release
Saskatchewan Environmental Society
May 11, 2017
For immediate release

K-12 School Energy Conservation Contest Winners

 25 Acts of Energy Conservation is a K-12, province-wide energy conservation campaign. Throughout the 2016/17 school year, schools around Saskatchewan took action to save energy, conserve water, and reduce waste. This program aims to give students the hands-on experience needed to conquer sustainability challenges. Students are able to replicate the actions taken throughout this program and apply them in their communities long after they graduate.

Between November 1, 2016 and April 30, 2017, teachers around Saskatchewan captured and submitted photos of their school’s conservation action(s) to be entered into random draws. Students also turned these actions into meaningful conservation campaigns, compiling their efforts into a blog or video submission to be judged.

This year’s program motivated twenty different schools to take action. Raymore School, Esterhazy High School, and Evan Hardy Collegiate (Saskatoon) were the lucky winners of random draws for $500. John Paul II Collegiate (North Battleford) and St. George School (Saskatoon) won Saskatchewan Science Centre Experience prizes valued at $500. In addition to the environmental and economic benefits gained from running conservation campaigns, the top two submitters were awarded $1000 for their efforts. Churchill Community High School (La Ronge) and Caswell Community School (Saskatoon) were this year’s champions. Honourable mentions were given to John Paul II Collegiate (North Battleford) and Bethlehem Catholic High School (Saskatoon).

The Saskatchewan Environmental Society, in partnership with the Saskatchewan Science Centre, organizes 25 Acts of Energy Conservation. SaskEnergy, SARCAN, and The Co-operators sponsored the program for the 2016/17 school year. For more information about the 25 Acts of Energy Conservation program, please visit